Black and Gold Commission

 UWM Home  

 UWM Directories 

 Contact UWM  

 UWM Events 

 Search UWM 

About Us

Commission Notes

Our Data

Final Commission Report

Meeting Schedule

Home

committed to students @ UWM

UWM Home

About the Black and Gold Commission
The Black & Gold Commission is made up of twelve students, six faculty members and six staff members. Please feel free to contact the commission by email at
blackandgold@uwm.edu or post your feedback here.

The UWM Black and Gold Commission Focuses on Student Success

The UWM Black and Gold Commission is charged with ensuring that the quality of the UWM student experience improves as UWM grows in stature as a premier urban research university.

Building on the example set by the Blue Ribbon Committee, the Black and Gold Commission is developing recommendations to share with the campus community that will ultimately lead to a higher quality student experience at UWM as measured by increased retention and graduation rates and higher satisfaction survey rankings. Twelve students, six faculty members and six staff members are working together to identify areas for the university to focus on in upcoming years to positively impact students.

Chancellor Zimpher charged the Commission to:

  • Focus on students and their experiences
  • Use multiple forms of data
  • Consider all possibilities
  • Focus on service and how we treat our students whether in the classroom, on the phone or any other point of contact
  • Work diligently and have fun doing it! If there's too much for this commission to deal with, set up other groups.

We know that commissions work!
In 1994, the Blue Ribbon Committee on the Undergraduate Experience, following extensive review, issued a series of recommendations that affected policies and practices as well as student outcomes throughout the 1990's. In the years that followed the implementation of Blue Ribbon Committee's recommendations, 1-year retention of freshmen increased by over 10%; 6-year graduation rates increased by over 3%; and satisfaction of graduating seniors with educational quality and academic advising increased by over 5%.

Research the Black and Gold Commission is using and what we're learning about our students and campus
The Black and Gold Commission has access to and is studying an enormous amount of data on student success available at UWM. These include the commonly known sources such as retention data, data from the National Survey of Student Engagement, and the annual UWM graduating senior survey. However, the Commission has also been provided with research studies and results not commonly known and investigations that are unique to UWM. These include Professor Scott Solberg's work on identifying successful undergraduate pathways, Dr. Ester Johnson's research on retention of freshmen in UWM's College of Engineering and Applied Science, Professors Carol Haertlein and Carol Ott's analyis of the Core Alcohol and Drug Survey distributed to UWM students, and Dr. Don Craig's presentation of the responses provided by UWM students on the nationally distributed College Health Assessment.

Commission's directions
The Commission has divided into three subcommittees to review data and strategies, and to begin to draft recommendations. The Black and Gold Commission will formulate a draft report on its progress to share broadly with the campus community. The Commission will solicit feedback and suggestions by promoting its information on its website - which includes a "talk to us" portion, visiting governance and leadership groups, and holding focus groups for students, staff and faculty during the month of April. The final report, expected in late April, will set both short and long-term priorities. Some recommendations will be able to be implemented within a semester or two while others will be part of a long-term strategic plan to keep important issues at the forefront of campus planning. Integral to the report will be assessment and measurement tools to track progress.


UWM Black and Gold Commission Members
Last Updated: April 9, 2002
blackandgold@uwm.edu

Commission Members

Unit
E-mail
Carol Haertlein, Associate Professor, Co-chair Occupational Therapy, College of Health Sciences chaert@uwm.edu
Isaac Monteagudo, Co-chair Junior LSBA L&S isaac@uwm.edu

Students

Name

Year Classification/School

E-mail

Kerri Francis

Sophomore LSBA

princesskaynas@aol.com

Eman Ibrahim

Graduate Student LIS LIS

eibrahim@uwm.edu

David Karasek

Freshman PNUR

dkarasek@uwm.edu

Chikeyia Longley

Senior EDBA EDUC

chikeyia@uwm.edu

May Moua

Sophomore PBBA

maymoua@uwm.edu

Elizabeth Sengkhammee

EDBA3

lizaries@uwm.edu

Val Sichi-Krygsman

Senior Information Science

sichi@uwm.edu

A. J. Simon

Graduate Student ARCA A&UP

ajsimon@ameritech.net

Bhagwant Sindhu

Graduate Student OT AHP

sindhu@uwm.edu

Kathryn Stocks

Senior MUBA F.A.

katyjane@uwm.edu

Pakou Vang

Graduate Student LS L&S

vang2@uwm.edu

Faculty

Tom O'Bryan

Associate Dean College of Letters and Science and Associate Professor of Mathematics

obryan@uwm.edu

Joseph Rodriguez, Associate Professor

History, College of Letters and Science

joerod@uwm.edu

Darrell Radson, Associate Dean

University Outreach

radson@uwm.edu

Scott Solberg, Associate Professor

Educational Psychology, School of Education

ssolberg@uwm.edu

Jose Torres, Associate Professor

Social Work, School of Social Welfare

jbt@uwm.edu

Academic Staff

Linda Anderson-Courtney, Assistant Dean

School of Business Administration

ldac@uwm.edu

Don Craig, Director

Norris Health Center

dhcraig@uwm.edu

Ester Johnson, Director

College of Engineering and Applied Science

ebj@uwm.edu

Tom McGinnity, Director

Student Organizations Advising and Resources

tommc@uwm.edu

Cathy Seasholes, Director

Women's Resource Center

seashole@uwm.edu

Patrick Sims, Faculty Associate

Theatre & Dance

psims1@uwm.edu

Ex Officio

John Wanat, Provost/Senior Vice Chancellor
Academic Affairs

jwanat@uwm.edu

Stanley Battle, Vice Chancellor
Student and Multicultural Affairs battle@uwm.edu

Mary Roggeman, Deputy Assistant Chancellor

Student and Multicultural Affairs

roggeman@uwm.edu

Ruth Williams, Associate Vice Chancellor

Academic Affairs

rew@uwm.edu