Seminars in International Economics

Fall 2005 Seminar Schedule

Friday, September 16, 2005

M. Bahmani-Oskooee and Z. Ardalani, UW-Milwaukee
"Exchange Rate Sensitivity of US Trade Flows: Evidence from Industry Data"

Thursday, September 22, 2005

Salvatore Capasso, University of Naples (Italy)
"Crime, Inequality and Economic Growth"

Friday, September 23, 2005

Kenji Wada, Keio University of Japan
"Stock Repurchases in Japan"

Friday, September 30, 2005

S. Adams and C. Cotti, UW-Milwaukee
"The Effects of Smoking Bans on Restaurants and Bars: A County Level Analysis"

Friday, October 7, 2005

S. Drewianka and C. Cotti, UW-Milwaukee
"Labor Market Inefficiency, Sectoral Reallocation, and the Jobless Recovery"

Friday, October 14, 2005

N. Grawe, Carleton College
"Be Fruitful and Multiply: Religious Denomination as Instrumental Variable in Estimates of the Family Size Effect"

Friday, October 21, 2005

A. Murshid and N. Bose, UW-Milwaukee
"Mitigating the Growth Effects of Inflation through Financial Development"

Friday, October 28, 2005

G. Ye, UW-Milwaukee
"Mixed Oligopoly with Spatial Price Discrimination"

Friday, November 4, 2005

Meta Brown, UW-Madison
"Investment in Child Quality Over Marital States"

Friday, November 11, 2005

Kamil Tahmiscioglu,UW-Milwaukee
"Estimation of Dynamic Panel Data Models with Both Individual and Time Effects"

Friday, December 9, 2005

Joe Kaboski, Ohio State University
"Consumption, Investment, and Saving under Credit Contraints: Testing Structural Theory Using a Large-Scale Microfinance Experiment"