University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

School of Freshwater Sciences

People

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

ADMINISTRATION
Dean - David Garman, 382-1700, garmand@uwm.edu
Associate Dean of Research - J. Val Klump, 382-1700, vklump@uwm.edu

Associate Dean of Academic and Administrative Affairs - Paul Roebber, 382-1751, roebber@uwm.edu
Assistant Dean of Facilities and Marine Operations - Rob Paddock, 382-1745, rpaddock@uwm.edu

Assistant Dean - Nina Ottman, 382-1700, ottman@uwm.edu
Human Resources Assistant - Nicole Oake, 382-1700, nicoleb@uwm.edu
Financial Specialist - Linda Horbinski, 382-1700, horbs@uwm.edu
Financial Specialist - Joan Flores, 382-1700, jflores@uwm.edu

Financial Specialist 2 - Erika Donnelly, donnelle@uwm.edu

Academic Program Manager - Margret Petrie, 382-1704, petriem@uwm.edu
Course Scheduling and Admissions Coordinator - Mallory Minor, 382-1778, minorm@uwm.edu
Career Development Manager - Lindsay Frost, 382-1783, lgfrost@uwm.edu

DEVELOPMENT
Director of Development - Eric Leaf, 382-1769, leafe@uwm.edu

COMMUNICATIONS & MEDIA RELATIONS
Communications Manager - Rachel Wilberding, 382-1718, rachelw6@uwm.edu

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY
Sr. Information Processing Consultant - Thomas Hansen, 382-1728, tomh@uwm.edu

FACULTY & SCIENTISTS [back to top]

Aguilar, Carmen - Associate Scientist
Effects of invasive species on food web interactions and ecophysiology
Berardo, Ramiro - Assistant Professor
Political science, cooperation and coordination in water policy networks, water resources management, social capital
Binkowski, Frederick P. - Senior Scientist
Fisheries biology, lake sturgeon biology, early life history of Great Lakes fishes, aquaculture, urban aquaculture
Bootsma, Harvey - Associate Professor
Tropical limnology, nutrient cycling, food webs, carbon dynamics
Carvan III, Michael J. - Shaw Associate Professor
Toxicology, toxicogenomics, epigenetics, behavioral toxicology, gene-environment-disease/dysfunction interactions
Consi, Thomas R. - Assistant Professor
Marine robotics, marine scientific instrumentation, engineering education
Cuhel, Russell L. - Senior Scientist
Microbiogeochemical ecophysiology, physical-chemical-biological coupling, time series analysis, hydrothermal vents, lithotrophy, undergraduate research opportunities
Grant, Laura - Assistant Professor
Environmental and Public Economics
Grundl, Tim - Professor
Groundwater chemistry, contaminant transport and degradation, environmental tracers
Guo, Laodong - Professor
Biogeochemistry, carbon cycle, colloids and nanoparticles, stable isotopes, radionuclides, environmental change
Janssen, John - Professor
Fisheries ecology, biological oceanography
Kaster, Jerry L. - Associate Professor
Function and evolution of freshwater and marine invertebrates
Kehl, Jenny - Associate Professor, Director of the Center for Water Policy
Water policy, political economy, resolution of issues related to water extraction and resource allocation.
Klaper, Rebecca - Shaw Associate Professor, Director of the Great Lakes Genomics Center
Genomics, emerging contaminants, pharmaceuticals, nanomaterials, toxicology, nanotoxicology, ecology, biomarkers, water policy
Klump, J. Val - Professor
Biogeochemistry, limnology, radiochemistry, nutrient and carbon cycling, observing systems
Lazkano, Itziar - Assistant Professor
Economic growth, environmental and resource economics, macroeconomics
McLellan, Sandra - Professor
Bacterial genetics, fecal pollution, fate and transport of bacteria, pathogens in the environment, beach closings
Roebber, Paul J. - Professor
Air-water interactions, synoptic-dynamic and mesoscale meteorology, numerical modeling, data analysis
Sepulveda Villet, Osvaldo Jhonatan - Assistant Professor
Molecular ecology, population genetics, aquaculture techniques, Great Lakes biotics and abiotics
Smith, Matthew C. - Assistant Professor
Instrumentation and sensor development, automation of molecular biological methods, in situ chemical and biological detection in aqueous environments
Waples, James - Assistant Professor
Biogeochemistry, carbon cycling, radiochemistry

AFFILIATE  [back to top]

Berges, John - Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Chang, Woo-Jin - Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Han, Weon Shik - Assistant Professor, Department of Geosciences
Hutz, Reinhold - Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Joyce, Caroline - Program Director, School of Continuing Education
Strickler, J. Rudi - Shaw Distinguished Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Udvadia, Ava - Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Xu, Shangping - Assistant Professor, Department of Geosciences
Young, Erica - Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

ADJUNCT [back to top]

Bland, Jim - Adjunct Scientist, EPA
Gardner, Wayne - Professor, University of Texas at Austin
Goetz, Frederick - Research Scientist, NOAA
Harrison, Jane - University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute
Kebus, Myron - Program Director, Division of Animal Health, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Kinzelman, Julie
- Research Scientist, City of Racine Health Department
Lovern, Sarah B. - Assistant Professor, Concordia University, Wisconsin
McAvoy, Peter - Adjunct Professor, Water Policy Consultant
Shana, Zack - Milwaukee Area Technical College

EMERITUS FACULTY [back to top]

Brooks, Arthur - Professor Emeritus, Department of Biological Sciences
Brown, Bruce - Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Geosciences
Edgington, David - Professor Emeritus, Department of Geosciences
Lubner, James - Emeritus Adjunct Professor, University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Advisory Services
Remsen, Charles - Professor Emeritus, Department of Biological Sciences

RESEARCH & TECHNICAL STAFF [back to top]

Anderson, Patrick - Researcher, 382-1731, pda2@uwm.edu
Bill, Jacob - Research Specialist, 382-1751, jsbill@uwm.edu
Bootsma, Melinda - Chemist, 382-1747, bootsma@uwm.edu
Bower, Patricia - Research Technician, 382-1747, pbower@uwm.edu
Bray, Dylan - Research Technician, 382-1763, dabray@uwm.edu
Dila, Deborah - Research Specialist, 382-1747, dila@uwm.edu
Gross, Brandon - Research Specialist, 382-1719, bmgross@uwm.edu
Hebert, Henry - Chemist, 382-1743, heberth@uwm.edu
Horton, Alyson - Chemist, 382-1719, hortona@uwm.edu
Ney, Christopher - Laboratory Manager, 382-1720, cney@uwm.edu
Niemuth, Nicholas - Research Specialist, 382-1763, niemuthn@uwm.edu
Nuese, Jeffrey - Sr. Research Specialist, 382-1743, jcnuese@uwm.edu
O'Brien, Megan - Research Analyst, 382-1760, obrien3@uwm.edu
Paddock, Jill - Sr. Communications Specialist, 382-1743, paddockj@uwm.edu
Schmoldt, Angela - Research Specialist, 382-1761, angelas@uwm.edu
Szmania, Donald - Research Specialist, 382-1716, sd@uwm.edu
Trendel, Elizabeth - University Services Associate, 382-1700, eat@uwm.edu
Twohig, Timothy - Research Technician, 382-1760, ttwohig@uwm.edu
VandeWalle, Jessica - Assistant Researcher, 382-1747, vandewa3@uwm.edu
Weckerly, Kim - Sr. Research Specialist, 382-1716, weckerly@uwm.edu
Yeo, Steven - Associate Researcher, 382-1743, yeo@uwm.edu

CENTER FOR WATER POLICY
Kehl, Jenny - Director, 382-1725, kehl@uwm.edu
Thiel, Aaron - Research Manager, 382-1725, thiela@uwm.edu

GREAT LAKES GENOMICS CENTER

Klaper, Rebecca - Director, 382-1713, rklaper@uwm.edu
Schmoldt, Angela - Research Specialist, 382-1774, angelas@uwm.edu

Hovey, Ray - Bioinformatics Research Specialist, 382-1774, rhovey@uwm.edu

INSTRUMENT SHOP
Barske, Gregory - Instrument Shop Coordinator, 382-1720, greg@uwm.edu
Metzger, Randolf - Instrument Maker-Journey, 382-1720, rmetzger@uwm.edu

RESEARCH VESSEL
Anderson, Geoffrey - Research Vessel Crew Leader, 382-1709, andersog@uwm.edu
Guyer, Gerald - Research Technician, 382-1709, guyer@uwm.edu
Hake, Richard - Research Vessel Crew Leader, 382-1709, hake@uwm.edu
Keener, Rad - Research Technician, 382-1709, keener@uwm.edu
Larson, Timothy - Research Technician, 382-1709, trlarson@uwm.edu
Slick, Scott - Research Technician, 382-1709, slick@uwm.edu
Stamatelakys, Gregory - R/V Neeskay Captain, 382-1709, skeg@uwm.edu

POST-DOCTORAL RESEARCH ASSOCIATES & FELLOWS [back to top]

Dominguez, Gustavo - Klaper lab, domingug@uwm.edu
Fisher, Jenny - McLellan lab, fisher26@uwm.edu
Klingler, Rebekah - Carvan lab, klinglr@uwm.edu
Lin
, Peng- Guo lab, lin25@uwm.edu
Newton, Ryan - McLellan lab, newtonr@uwm.edu
Zhou, Zhengzhen - Guo lab, zhou9@uwm.edu
Ziarek, Ai Nihongi - Strickler lab, anihongi@uwm.edu

GRADUATE STUDENTS [back to top]

Complete list of graduate students.

ON-SITE COLLABORATORS [back to top]

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENCES - CHILDREN'S ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENCES CORE CENTER
Kosteretz, Kris - Research Specialist
Petering, David - Center Director
Tomasiewicz, Henry - Researcher
Weber, Daniel - Senior Scientist

SOUTHEASTERN WISCONSIN WATERSHEDS TRUST
Marchese, Pat - Interim Director

 

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SEA GRANT
Harrison, Jane - Outreach Program Manager


UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MILWAUKEE SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Svoboda, Kurt - Associate Professor
Wolter, Matthew - Graduate student

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE - AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH SERVICE
Rees, Christopher - Biological Science Lab Technician
Shepherd, Brian - Research Physiologist

U.S. ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
Christensen, Bob - R/V Lake Guardian Captain

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Burzynski, Thomas - Fisheries Technician
Eggold, Bradley
- Fisheries Team Supervisor
Hirethota, Pradeep
- Fisheries Biologist
Peterson, Cheryl
- Fisheries Technician
Schindelholz, David
- Fisheries Technician
Wawrzyn, William
- Fisheries Biologist
Zinuticz, Jeffrey
- Fisheries Technician