American Indian Studies Faculty and Staff Members

UWM boasts the largest American Indian Studies faculty of any of Wisconsin’s state universities, with members in the Departments of Anthropology, Educational Policy and Community Studies, English, History, and Sociology.

David Beaulieu
Professor of Educational Policy & Community Studies
Director, Electa Quinney Institute
Email: beaulieu@uwm.edu
Phone: 414-229-5540
Office: Bolton 187

Teaching and research interests: American Indian education policy


Kimberly Blaeser
Professor, English

Email: kblaeser@uwm.edu
Phone: 414-229-5043
Office: Curtin 572

Teaching and research interests: Native American Literatures, Theories of Indigenous Literatures, American Nature Writing, and Creative Writing including Poetry, Life Writing, and Nature Writing


Donald Green
Associate Professor, Sociology
Chair, Department of Sociology
Email: dgreen@uwm.edu
Phone: 414-229-4595
Office: NWQ-B 7432

Teaching and research interests: Criminology, delinquency, social control, the Native American experience


Cary Miller
Associate Professor, History
Coordinator, American Indian Studies
Email: carym@uwm.edu
Phone: 414-229-6251
Office: NWQ-B 4410

Teaching and research interests: Anishinaabe leadership in the early 19th century, Anishinaabe women’s history; treaties and sovereignty, Wisconsin Indian History


Margaret Noodin
Assistant Professor, English
Interim Director, Electa Quinney Institute
Email: noodin@uwm.edu
Phone:
Office: CRT 576

Teaching and research interests: Indigenous American literature, Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe) language, language revitalization


Bernard Perley
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Email: bcperley@uwm.edu
Phone:414-229-6380
Office: Sabin 329


Teaching and research interests:
Linguistic anthropology - language ideology, language endangerment, and language revitalization; visual anthropology - graphic ethnography (theory and practice); American Indian Studies- repatriation (tangible and intangible properties), Indigeneity (aboriginality), and self-determination as ethnocosmogenesis (semiotics, intertextuality, and intermediality).


(Robert) Jason Sherman
Associate Professor, Anthropology

Email: shermanr@uwm.edu
Phone:414-229-4175
Office: Sabin 290

Teaching and research interests: Formation and development of archaic states and their impact on smaller communities; state development in Mesoamerican native populations; primary fieldwork in Oaxaca, Mexico; fieldwork experience in Maya lowlands, southwestern and southeastern U.S.


Laura Villamil
Assistant Professor, Anthropology

Email: laurav@uwm.edu
Phone:414-229-4175
Office: Sabin 275

Teaching and research interests: Development of archaic states and patterns of urbanization in Mesoamerica; the built environment of native people’s ancient cities; primary fieldwork in the Maya lowlands (Quintana Roo, Mexico, fieldwork experience in highland Mexico, Belize and western and southeastern U.S.


Michael Wilson
Associate Professor, English

Email: michael@uwm.edu
Phone:414-229-4839
Office: Curtin 495

Teaching and research interests: Indigenous literatures of North America, postcolonial theory and indigenous literatures