Anthropology Faculty and Staff

Ajirotutu, Cheryl
Linguistics/Sociocultural
yinka@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 308
Sociolinguistics, Africa, women and development and Field School Director (Senegal). Senior Faculty Associate in the Cultures and Communities Program.
Anapol, Fred
Biological
fred@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4231 | Sabin 140/125a/115
Neuromuscular biology of feeding and locomotion from the perspectives of both evolutionary morphology and function. Director, Center for Forensic Science.
Applbaum, Kalman
Sociocultural
applbaum@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 319
Economic anthropology, medical anthropology, globalization, transnational corporations, Japan, U.S., Israel.
Arnold, Bettina
Archaeology
barnold@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4583 | Sabin 229
Pre-Roman Iron Age Europe, Celtic studies, mortuary and gender studies, nationalism, history of archaeology, museum studies. Editor of e-Keltoi.
Bornstein, Erica
Sociocultural
elbornst@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4881 | Sabin 311
Philanthropy, charity and humanitarianism, non-governmental organizations, human rights, political anthropology, anthropology of religion, economic anthropology, ethnographic methods, southern Africa, India.
Brodwin, Paul
Sociocultural
brodwin@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4734 | Sabin 180
Medical anthropology; cultural studies of psychiatry, mental health services, bioethics and biotechnology; social theory; Haiti and Haitian diaspora.
Campbell, Benjamin
Biological
campbelb@uwm.edu
(414) 229-6250 | Sabin 125c
Neuroanthropology; human life history, hormones and genetics; Africa.
Gray, J. Patrick
Sociocultural
jpgray@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4822/4175 | Sabin 337
Holocultural research, sociobiology, methodology, and religion. Co-editor of the World Cultures journal.
Heatherington, Tracey
Sociocultural
pistoccu@uwm.edu
(414) 229-2254 | Sabin 310
Resistance to eco-development, cultural politics, environmentalism, Europeanisation, post-national citizenship; Italy, Europe.
Hudson, Jean
Archaeology
jhudson@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 225
Human ecology, foraging adaptations, cooperative and egalitarian social strategies, zooarchaeology, ethnoarchaeology, coastal environments, Latin America, North America.
Jeske, Robert J.
Archaeology
jeske@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 275B
Midwest/Great Lakes, lithics, late prehistoric Midwest, core-periphery models, ethnicity, settlement, site formation, method and technique.
Jordt, Ingrid
Sociocultural
jordt@uwm.edu
(414) 229-3197 | Sabin 321
Religion and politics, Burma, Buddhism.
Malaby, Thomas
Sociocultural
malaby@uwm.edu
(414) 229-5247 Sabin 290D
Risk, modernity, history and futurity, globalization projects, urban criminality, medical anthropology, social theory, ritual and performance.
Perley, Bernard
Linguistics/Sociocultural
bcperley@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 329
Linguistic anthropology research, Native American studies, cultural repatriation and sovereignty, ethnography method and theory.
Richards, John D.
Archaeology
jdr@uwm.edu
(414) 229-2440 | Sabin 221
Great Lakes prehistory, historic preservation, ceramic analysis, Director of UWM Historic Resource Management Services; Editor, Wisconsin Archaeologist.
Richards, Patricia B.
Archaeology
pbrownr@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 204
Mortuary analysis, 19th century cemeteries, historical archaeology, Great Lakes Indian peoples, cultural resource management.
Sherman, R. Jason
Archaeology
shermanr@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 275A
Archaeology of complex societies, state formation and expansion, political and economic organization, ceramics, compositional analysis, petrography, Mesoamerica (especially Oaxaca, Maya Lowlands).
Turner, Trudy R.
Biological
trudy@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 125B
Molecular anthropology and evolution, primate life history, women in science, biological anthropology and ethics. Editor, YearBook of Physical Anthropology.
Villamil, Laura P.
Archaeology
laurav@uwm.edu
(414) 229-3396 | Sabin 231
Mesoamerican archaeology, urbanization and ancient cities, archaeology of post-collapse communities.
Wood, W. Warner (Bill)
Sociocultural
woodw@uwm.edu
(414) 229-6323 | Sabin 304
Museum studies, material culture, globalization, environmentalism, Mexico & U.S. Southwest, tourism, identity, and practice theories; Coordinator, Museum Studies Graduate Certificate Program

Academic Staff

Nicholls, Brian
Archaeology
nicholls@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4175 | Sabin 325
GIS, Midwestern archeology, cultural resource management

Museum Studies Program Instructors

Claudia Jacobson
Dawn Scher Thomae
W. Warner (Bill) Wood


Emeritus Faculty

Sidney Greenfield
Donald Kurtz
William Washabaugh
Edward Wellin