Colloquia and Seminars

Fall 2014

Friday, September 5, 2014, 3:00pm

Jennifer Herriges
University Safety and Assurances
Location: Chemistry 180
Host: Mark Dietz

Friday, September 19, 2014, 3:00pm

Adebola Oyefusi, UW-Milwaukee
3-Dimensional (3D) Printing for Tissue Engineering
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: Jian Chen
Abstract

Friday, September 26, 2014, 3:00pm


Sibel Ibryamova, UW-Milwaukee
Cerenkov Luminescence Imaging of Positron Emission Tomographic Radiotracers
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: Gil Indig
Abstract

Friday, October 3, 2014, 3:00pm

Partha Basu, Duquesne University

Fundamental Chemistry, Biology and Sensor Applications – bolstering a Dithiolene Brigade

Location: Chemistry 180

Host: Andy Pacheco

 

Friday, October 10, 2014, 3:00pm

Muhammad Hussain, UW Milwaukee

Chemistry of CVD-grown Monolayer Graphene   

Location: Chemistry 180

Advisor: Jian Chen

 

Friday, October 17, 2014 3:00pm

Brett Beaupre, UW Milwaukee

Thymidylate Synthase-A Curious New Flavin Chemistry

Advisor: Graham Moran

 

Friday, October 24, 2014 3:00pm

Sarah Oehm, UW Milwaukee

Lipopolysaccharide Transport Proteins: A “Molecular Pez Dispenser” and Potential Antibiotic Target

Location: Chemistry 180

Advisor: Alan Schwabacher


Friday, October 31, 2014, 3:00pm

Marie Nider, UW Milwaukee

Title: TBA

Location: Chemistry 180

Advisor: Joseph Aldstadt

 

Friday, November 7, 2014 3:00pm

Afsana Mahn, UW Milwaukee

CRISPR/Cas system: A novel and versatile genome engineering tool in biochemical studies

Location: Chemistry 180

Advisor: David Frick

 

Friday, November 14, 2014, 3:00pm

Muhammad Rahaman, UW Milwaukee

Palladium Catalyzed Enantioselective C-H activation in Organic Synthesis

Location: Chemistry 180

Advisor: Mahmun Hossain

 

Thursday, November 20, 2014, 3:00pm

Binghe Wang, Georgia State University

Title: TBA

Host: Xiahua Peng

**NOTE: This will be held in Lapham Hall, ROOM 160**

 

Friday, December 5, 2014, 3:00pm

Speaker: TBA

Title: TBA

Location: Chemistry 180

Advisor: TBA

 

 

Spring 2014

Friday, January 24, 2014, 3:00pm

Chris Veldkamp, UW-Whitewater
Chemokines, Cancer Metastasis and Drug Discovery Efforts
Location: Chemistry 180
Host: Alexander (Leggy) Arnold
Abstract

Friday, January 31, 2014, 3:00pm

Megan Josie Corby, UW-Milwaukee
Detecting Dangerous DNA:  The cyclic-GAMP synthase is a cytosolic DNA detection system that produces a never-before-seen second messenger
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: David Frick
Abstract

Friday, February 7, 2014, 3:00pm

Eric Lund, UW-Milwaukee
The In’s and Out’s of [Fe-Fe]-hydrogenase in Clostridium pasteurianum
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: David Petering
Abstract

Friday, February 14, 2014, 3:00pm

Guanguan Li, UW-Milwaukee
New drug research based on estrogen receptor-alpha as a target for breast cancer
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: James Cook
Abstract

Friday, February 28, 2014, 3:00pm

Theodore Thuening, UW-Milwaukee
Enhancing supported gold nanoparticle catalysts: Effect of particle morphology and support on activity
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: W.T. Tysoe
Abstract

Thursday, March 6, 2014, 3:00pm

Sosnovsky Distinguished Lecture Series, Professor Lawrence J. Marnett, Vanderbilt University
Targeting Cyclooxygenases as a Strategy for Improved Cancer Detection and Therapy
Location: Chemistry 180
Host: Alexander (Leggy) Arnold
Abstract

Friday, March 7, 2014, 3:00pm

Sosnovsky Distinguished Lecture Series, Professor Lawrence Marnett, Vanderbilt University
Oxygenation of Endocannabinoids by Cyclooxygenase-2: Novel Bioactive Lipid and Therapeutic Opportunities
Location: Chemistry 180
Host: Alexander (Leggy) Arnold
Abstract

Friday, March 28, 2014, 3:00pm

Zhe Cao, UW-Milwaukee
Telomere dysfunction and cancer
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: Guilherme Indig
Abstract

Friday, April 4, 2014, 3:00pm

Md Zubair Ahmed Khan, UW-Milwaukee
Overview of the molecular imaging tracers developed for optical and nuclear identification of bacteria and bacterial infection
Location: Chemistry 180
Advisor: James Cook
Abstract

Friday, April 11, 2014, 3:00pm

Ali Erdemir, Argonne National Laboratory
Dissociative Extraction of Diamondlike Carbon (DLC) Boundary Films from Lubricating Oils
Location: Chemistry 180
Host: W.T. Tysoe
Abstract

Friday, April 18, 2014, 9:00am

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Awards Day
Location: Wisconsin Room, UWM Union

Symposium Program


Friday, May 2, 2014, 3:00pm

Thomas E. Prisinzano, University of Kansas
TBA
Location: Chemistry 180
Host: James Cook