70th Physical Electronics Conference
Call for Abstract


FINAL Program and Local Maps

The 70th Physical Electronics Conference will be held on June 15-18, 2010 at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. The final program and local maps will be available for download soon. A tentative program is available at Program Schedule.


The 70th Physical Electronics Conference, including the prestigious Nottingham Prize Competition for the best presentation based on doctoral research, will be held at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. This topical conference provides an annual forum for the dissemination and discussion of new research results in the physics and chemistry of surfaces and interfaces.


The conference will include 20-minute oral presentations in a single-session format with lively discussions. The three-day format of the conference limits the total number of oral contributions to about 60. Additional contributions are included in poster sessions. Except for the Nottingham contestants, a one-page abstract is the sole written contribution required of contributors.

Poster Competition

This year the Physical Electronics Conference will again be awarding prizes for the best posters. Each poster will be judged on quality of the technical content and clarity of the presentation. Cash prizes will be awarded for 1st ($250), 2nd ($150), and 3rd ($100) place.

Basic Schedule

A welcome reception and registration from 5-8 pm on Tuesday, June 15th will kick-off the conference. It will be held outside the Manfred Olson Planetarium with 20 minute shows given, during a light cocktail reception. For those arriving early or leaving late, there will be campus tours available during the day on the 15th and afternoon on the 18th. Pangaea Mall will be the site of the annual picnic on Wednesday evening, June 16th. The conference banquet and awards reception will take place on Thursday evening, June 17th at Discovery World where the prestigious Nottingham Award will be presented. The conference will conclude at noon on Friday, June 18th.

Confirmed Speakers
Brief bio of Phillips First Phillip First Professor Phillip First is a faculty member in the School of Physics at Georgia Tech. He earned a B.S. degree in Physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in 1988. His research has been in the physics of surfaces, interfaces, and nanostructures, including the recent development of epitaxial graphene as an electronic material. First also was instrumental in establishing the Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division of the AVS, serving as its founding Chair.

Brief bio of Scott Chambers

Scott Chambers

Dr. Scott Chambers is a Laboratory Fellow at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. He earned his A.B. degree in Chemistry from the University of California, San Diego and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Oregon State University. After a conducting research in semiconductor interfaces at Boeing, Chambers joined PNNL in 1992, where his research has been focused lately on epitaxial oxide films and nanostructures. Chambers has long been active in the AVS, where he was elected a Fellow in 1996. More recently, he was elected a Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2009.