70th Physical Electronics Conference

About the PEC

For 70 years the Physical Electronics Conference has been held on university campuses and research labs around North America. This topical conference provides an annual forum for the dissemination and discussion of new research results in the physics and chemistry of surfaces and interfaces. The conference emphasizes fundamental science in materials systems, including metals, semiconductors, insulators and biomaterials.

Each year, physicists and chemists with interests in these fields come together to solicit papers on experimental and theoretical research performed at exposed (gas-solid), buried (liquid-solid and solid-solid) and hybrid (e.g., semiconductor-biomaterial) interfaces. Representative topics include electronic, chemical, magnetic, and structural properties of interfaces; kinetics and dynamics of physical and chemical transformations at surfaces; formation, modeling, and properties of nanoscale-mesoscale surface architectures; correlated electron effects at surfaces; biological interactions with surfaces; mechanisms of surface and interface growth and evolution; and energy and electron transfer processes across materials interfaces. Properties of structurally and chemically tailored surfaces are of interest, as are new methods of measuring these properties and the demonstration of new applications.

Previous PEC Hosts
1966 Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1981 Montana State University 1996 Boston University
1967 Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1982 Georgia Institute of Technology 1997 University of Oregon
1968 University of Minnesota 1983 Sandia National Laboratories 1998 Penn State University
1969 Yale University 1984 Princeton University 1999 University of California-Berkeley
1970 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 1985 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 2000 Louisiana State University
1971 National Bureau of Standards 1986 University of Texas-Austin 2001 Sandia National Laboratories
1972 Sandia Laboratories 1987 IBM Almaden Research 2002 Georgia Institute of Technology
1973 University of California-Berkeley 1988 Brookhaven National Laboratory 2003 Cornell University
1974 Bell Laboratories 1989 University of Washington 2004 University of California-Davis
1975 Penn State University 1990 National Institute of Standards 2005 University of Wisconsin-Madison
1976 University of Wisconsin-Madison 1991 Rutgers University 2006 Princeton University
1977 Stanford University 1992 University of California-Irvine 2007 University of Illinois at Urbana-
1978 Oak Ridge National Laboratory 1993 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Champaign
1979 University of Maryland 1994 University of Tennessee 2008 University of California-Riverside
1980 Cornell University 1995 Arizona State University 2009 Rutgers University