UW-Milwaukee Economics Graduate Departmental Awards


Over the years, the Department of Economics has been fortunate to have outstanding faculty who have been excellent teachers and mentors to students, wonderful faculty colleagues, and instrumental in building the reputation of the department within the university, state, and the economics discipline. In two cases, awards have been established in their honor. Graduate students in the department are eligible for either of these awards.

J. Walter Elliott Memorial Award for Excellence in Macroeconomics

J. Walter Elliott was a vital and esteemed member of the faculty from 1975 to 1990. An internationally recognized scholar, he was a mainstay of our graduate program in macroeconomics. This award was established by his family, colleagues, students, and friends to honor his memory.

Previous Award Winners

  • Linh Pham
  • Xiaoli Guo
  • Swati Kumari
  • GuangLiang Ye
  • Chad Cotti
  • Artatrana Ratha
  • Souphala Chomsisengphet
  • Sumit Agarwal
  • Chic-Hsiang Chen
  • Anusua Datta
  • Susan Donohue Davies
  • Jacqueline Johnson Agesa

Richard Perlman Prize in Labor Economics

For more than three decades, Richard Perlman provided intellectual leadership, excellence in teaching and good humor to the Department of Economics. As a fitting tribute, friends and students have established an annual prize for the outstanding paper in labor economics.

Previous Award Winners

  • Phillip Oberg
  • Benjamin Van Kammen
  • Laurie Miller
  • Emily Lechtenberg
  • Miao Chi
  • Johanna Storck
  • Julia Reilich
  • Patrick O'Halloran