Senior Lecturers

Laura L. Ambrose

email: lambrose@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2972
office: Curtin 522
Education:
MA, English (TESOL), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
BA, French, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
BS, Mathematics and Applied Computer Science, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Teaching areas: English grammar, linguistics, English as a Second Language, TESOL, World Englishes, French

Adam Andrews

email: andrewsa@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2922
office: Curtin 402


Marci Bigler

email: mbigler@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2972
office: Curtin 522


Peter Blewett

email: pblewett@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4567
office: Curtin 583
website: http://mpsportal.milwaukee.k12.wi.us/portal/server.pt
Education:
PhD, English, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
MA, English, Marquette University
BA, Philosophy, Holy Redeemer College
Teaching areas: composition, creative writing, literature
Publications:
"Eclogue, Poems of Pat Moran and Peter Blewett." Green Bay: Basswood, 1998.
"Umbrellas." Milwaukee: Clear Skies, 1990.
Poems in various journals, such as Cream City Review, Poetry East, Seattle Review, West Branch, Literary Review, North Dakota Quarterly, Wisconsin Review, and Die Young!
Related activities: Member of Milwaukee Public Schools Board of Directors, district six


Vicki Bott

email: vlbott@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2972
office: Curtin 519
Teaching areas: composition

Mary Brehm

email: mb@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4520
office: Curtin 513
Teaching areas: composition, linguistics

Sandy Brusin

email: sandyb@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2922
office: Curtin 402
Teaching areas: first-year composition, academic discourse, creative non-fiction
Related activities: Assistant Director, First-Year Composition


James Chapson

email: jchapson@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6022
office: Curtin 503
Teaching areas: creative writing, satire, utopian narratives

Anita Chose`

email: anitac@uwm.edu
phone: ((414) 229-6047
office: Curtin 569
Education:
MA, English & Linguistics, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
BA, English, Spanish, Linguistics, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Teaching areas: Composition, English as a Second Language

Rikki Clark

email: rikki@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-3302
office: Curtin 502

Allen Donay

email: donay@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-5041
office: Curtin 533
Teaching areas: business writing, criminal justice


Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter

email: jendk@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6047
office: Curtin 573

Katherine Javers

email: javers@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2971
office: Curtin 506

Catherine Kaye

email: cjkaye@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6180
office: Curtin 678
Teaching areas: English as a second language
Related activities: Coordinator, English as a Second Language


Sonia Khatchadourian

email: soniak@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6047
office: Curtin 567
Teaching areas: creative writing, business writing, international business communication, composition, cultural studies, literature
Related activities: Classes on blues music, published articles about music, weekly radio program on WMSE 91.7 FM


Daniel Listoe

email: dlistoe@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2971
office: Curtin 524
website: https://pantherfile.uwm.edu/dlistoe/www/
Teaching areas: freshman seminar, literary studies, rhetoric and human rights, writing and literacy studies
Selected publications: The Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism, North Dakota Quarterly, SubStance


Christopher Lyons

email: bobdylan@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2971
office: Curtin 524
Teaching areas: composition, business writing

Katherine Javers

email: javers@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2971
office: Curtin 506

Brian Marks

email: bmarks@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6022
office: Curtin 592

Jennifer Mattson

email: jennifr@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4230
office: Curtin 697
Teaching areas: Freshman Seminar, English as a second language
Related activities: Coordinator of Conversation Partner program, which matches ESL students with Americans wishing to learn more about international students' cultures (and sometimes their languages). Evaluation of international TAs' classroom skills.
Academic Staff Award for Outstanding Teaching, 2000


John Mullvihill

email: jmulvi@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-5025
office: Curtin 516

Jeffrey Norman

email: jenor@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6022
office: Curtin 507
Teaching areas: composition, academic writing, various literature courses
Related activities: work with Writing Center


Nancy Nygaard

email: nnygaard@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-5910
office: Curtin 506

Liana Odcirc

email: ljo@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6022
office: Curtin 503
Teaching areas: composition, 19th and 20th century American literature, women's studies
Related activities: Edison Initiative Advisory Board/Committee, 2005-2006


Jeffrey Perso

email: zubin@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4243
office: Curtin 525
Teaching areas: Beat writers, freshman seminar, English 102: College Writing and Research
Publications: Edited four alternative newsweeklies and published fiction and non-fiction in over 25 periodicals, including The Alternative Press Review, Manzanita, Milwaukee Magazine, and Porcupine Literary Arts Magazine
English Department Award for Teaching Excellence, 2005


Carol Ross

email: cross@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-5959
office: Curtin 485
Teaching areas: composition, academic writing, advanced writing workshop, literary nonfiction
Related activities: Served on various English Department committees, volunteered for the Chancellor's Auction, currently volunteer at Hunger Task Force, Wisconsin Breast Cancer Showcase, and for other community organizations. Served as Holocaust Educator for the Coalition for Jewish Learning. Served on Category B subcommittee for Academic Staff. Published essays/articles, edited guidebook.
English Department Award for Teaching Excellence, 1993


Joan Ruffino

email: ruffino@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2972
office: Curtin 519

Amy Shields

email: grisk@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4911
office: Curtin 504

Benjamin Schneider

Assistant Director, Film Studies Program
email: terrapin@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4869
office: Curtin 488
Teaching areas: film studies


Melissa Schoeffel

email: mschoeff@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6648
office: Holton G48
Education:
PhD, English, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
MA, English, Northern Arizona University
BA, English, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Teaching areas: multicultural literature, composition, motherhood studies
Publications: Maternal Conditions: Reading Kingsolver, Castillo, Erdrich, and Ozeki, 2008


Debra Siebert

email: dsiebert@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4567
office: Curtin 579

C. Prescott Sobol

email: cpsobol@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-5910
office: Curtin 514

Sally Stanton

email: stanton@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-5007
office: Curtin 288

Kristin Terwelp

email: terwelp@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-0442
office: Curtin 408
Teaching areas: creative writing, multicultural literature, women's literature (emphasis 19th century American and British), composition, freshman seminar, Native American literature, women's studies
Publications: poems, interviews, creative nonfiction, and editorials have appeared in Sojourner: the Women's Forum, The Cream City Review, The Career News, and others
Related activities:
Coordinator of Online Composition
Memberships - UWM Visiting Writers Committee, Modern Language Association, Association of Writers & Writing Programs
Former poetry editor for The Cream City Review, former Editorial Assistant for The Career News

English Department Award for Teaching Excellence, 2007
Finalist, Tinsley Helton Dissertation Fellowship, 2002


Terry Thuemling

email: thuemlt@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-6022
office: Curtin 507

Diane Unterweger

email: dinaeku@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-4520
office: Curtin 513

Scott Walter

email: smwalter@uwm.edu
phone: (414) 229-2710
office: Curtin 482