Geography Colloquium Schedule

Unless otherwise noted, the colloquium series presentations are held in the American Geographical Society Library of the Golda Meir Library 2:30 to 4:00 pm.

Related events (not part of the colloquium series) are indicated in italics.

Fall 2012

Friday, September 7, 2012

Department of Geography First Friday Gathering
NWQ B, Room 6590

Friday, September 14, 2012

Graduate Student Organized Event

Friday, September 21, 2012

Tracey Heatherington, Anthropology, UW-Milwaukee
"Like Casu Marzu: Tasting Cultural Ecology on a Mediterranean Island"
NWQ B, Room 6590

Friday, September 28, 2012

Geography’s Harold and Florence Mayer Lecture:
James McCarthy, Department of Geography, Clark University
"Socializing urban environments? The case of Boston’s Big Dig"
Golda Meir Library, 4th Floor Conference Center
2:30 to 3:30, reception at 3:40

Friday, October 5, 2012

Geography Lecture’s Committee Meeting

Friday, October 12, 2012

AGSL Academic Adventures:
Rebecca Holderness,Theater Department, UW-Milwaukee
"Geography, Real and Imaginary, in a Setting of King Lear"

Friday, October 19, 2012

CIPR/SSI Research Lunch Series
Rina Ghose, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
"Bridging the Geospatial Divide through Public Participation GIS"
NWQ, 1st Floor Student Lounge
12:00-1:30pm
RSVP here or contact Michael Zimmer in Center for Information Policy Research: zimmerm@uwm.edu.

Friday, October 26, 2012

No colloquium:
AAG West-Lakes/East-Lakes Conference on campus of Northern Illinois University

Friday, November 2, 2012

Alison Donnelly, Visiting Assistant Professor, UW-Milwaukee
"Timing is everything: especially for species survival in a warmer world!"

Friday, November 9, 2012

Heeju Shin, Sociology, UW-Milwaukee
"Single Motherhood and Family Strategies in Urban Mexico and South Korea"
NWQ, 6th floor classroom 6590

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

GIS Day Key Keynote Speaker
Laxmi Ramasubramanian, Hunter College
President of the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science
Golda Meir Library, 4th Floor Conference Center
1:15-2:15 PM

Friday, November 16, 2012

Keith Woodward, Geography, UW-Madison
"The Face of the Earth"

Friday, November 23, 2012

No colloquium - Thanksgiving Break

Friday, November 30, 2012

Nancy Frank, Urban Planning, UW-Milwaukee
"Leaky Pipes: The Challenge of Aging Infrastructure and Public Health"

Friday, December 7, 2012

Kirsten Beyer, Medical College of Wisconsin
"Public Health, Place, and the Pump Handle"

Friday, December 14, 2012

AGSL Academic Adventures:
David Garman, Dean, School of Freshwater Sciences, UW-Milwaukee
"Water Around the World: Myths, Mysteries and Machinations"
AGS Library, 3rd Floor, Golda Meir Library
3:00 pm