Geography Colloquium Schedule

3:00 pm, American Geographical Society Library
3rd floor, Golda Meir Library

Fall 2010

Friday, September 3, 2010

Introduction to series/meet and greet

Friday, September 10, 2010

No colloquium – Department closed (furlough)

Friday, September 17, 2010

Christopher Baruth, Curator, American Geographical Society Library, UW-Milwaukee
"TBD"

Friday, September 24, 2010

AGS Academic Adventurers Series, AGS Library 3:00pm
Stefan Schnitzer, Biological Sciences, UW-Milwaukee
"Nature is Green in Tooth and Claw: A Photographic Journey into Tropical Ecology"

Friday, October 1, 2010

Urban Studies Programs Fall Lecture – Hefter Center, 4:30pm
Raquel Pinderhughes, Urban Studies and Planning, San Francisco State University
"TBD"

Thursday, October 7, 2010

AGS Geofocus Lecture – AGS Library, 7:00pm
Frederick Nelson, Geography, University of Delaware
"The American Geographical Society's Transcontinental Excursion of 1912"

Friday, October 8, 2010

Center for 21st Century Studies – Curtin Hall 175, 1:45-3:15pm
James Rojas, Latino Urban Forum, and Karen Till, Virginia Institute of Technology
"Embodied Placemaking in Urban Public Spaces, Part I"

Friday, October 15, 2010

Fall 2010 Harold and Florence Mayer Lecturer
Julio Betancourt, U.S. Geological Survey
"Climate and Ecosystems in the American West: Past, Present and Future"

Friday, October 22, 2010

No colloquium – Department closed (furlough)

Friday, October 29, 2010

AGS Academic Adventurers Series, AGS Library, 3:00pm
Chukuka Enwemeka, Dean, College of Health Sciences, UW-Milwaukee
"Analyzing Urban Park System Using Statistical and Spatial Models"

Friday, November 5, 2010

Center for 21st Century Studies – Curtin Hall 175, 3:00pm
Arun Saldanha, Geography, University of Minnesota
"A Tear in the Fabric of Time: The Immediate Impact of Jan Huygen van Linschoten's Itinerario"

Friday, November 5, 2010

Critical Geography Mini-Conference, Keynote Speaker – AGS Library, 6:00pm
Mona Domosh, Geography, Dartmouth College
"Toward a Genealogy of Geoeconomics: America's 'Mission' in the Early Twentieth Century"

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Critical Geography Mini-Conference
www4.uwm.edu/letsci/conferences/criticalgeography
Bolton Hall, 7:45am - 5:00pm

Friday, November 12, 2010

Professional Development Workshop: Grants and Fellowships for Graduate Students

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

GIS Day - www4.uwm.edu/gis/gisday

Friday, November 19, 2010

Woonsup Choi, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
"Urban growth and groundwater recharge: The case of Waukesha County."

Friday, November 26, 2010

Thanksgiving Break

Friday, December 3, 2010

AGS Academic Adventurers Series, AGS Library, 3:00pm
Anna Mansson McGinty, Geography and Women's Studies, UW-Milwaukee
"Blue-and-Yellow Islam? Muslim Identities in Sweden"

Friday, December 10, 2010

Richard Shaker, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
"The Scaling of Sustainability and Landscape Science: An Investigation of Human Behavior in the Republic of Moldova"