Geography Colloquium Schedule

2:30-4:00pm, American Geographical Society Library
3rd floor, Golda Meir Library

Spring 2011

Friday, January 28, 2011

Professional Development Workshop 2: Research Publication

Friday, February 4, 2011

Jeremy Sorenson, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Food fight: Sharing meals and confronting biopolitics in the disciplinary city (PhD Proposal)

Friday, February 11, 2011

Mark Bockenhauer, St. Norbert College
Map Works: Active-Learning Strategies in General Education Geography Courses

Friday, February 18, 2011

No Colloquium, Department of Geography Furlough

Friday, February 25, 2011

AGS Academic Adventurers Series, AGS Library, 3:00pm
Peter Lor, School of Information Studies, UW-Milwaukee
Jet-lag comes with the job: Experiences as IFLA's Secretary General

Friday, March 4, 2011

Yu Rong, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Tracking Phenological Responses to Urban Microclimate Variations (PhD Proposal)
Rodney Ranken, Geography, UW-Milwaukee (Canceled)
The Socio-economic Sustainability of the Lindsay Heights Redevelopment Project (MA Thesis)

Friday, March 11, 2011

Jonathan Burkham, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Development Discourse and Remittance Investment in "The Ghost Town:" The dynamic political economy of a rural(?), transnational(?), exurban(?) Mexican village (PhD Presentation)

Friday, March 18, 2011

Katie Williams, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Environmental decision-making on Lake Superior and the Black Sea (PhD Proposal)
Emily Engstrom, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Changes in the fire regimes and vegetation of Northern Minnesota over the past 200 years (MS Thesis)

Friday, March 25, 2011

Spring Break (March 20-27): No colloquium

Friday, April 1, 2011

Harold and Florence Mayer Lecturer
Craig Colten, Louisiana State University
Forgetting the Unforgettable: Social Memory and Resilience in New Orleans

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Special event Sponsored by Urban Studies
Don Mitchell,
"TBA"

Friday, April 8, 2011

AGS Academic Adventurers Series, AGS Library, 3:00pm
Theodore von Briesen, AGS Library, UW-Milwaukee
A Peek at the Puzzles of Persia: Tales of Some Ordinary Iranians in Two Eras

Friday, April 15, 2011

AAG April 10-16 - no colloquium

Friday, April 22, 2011

Nick Padilla, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Eradicating the spaces of coca culture: Mapping coca(ine) in Southern Colombia (PhD Proposal)
Margaret Pettygrove, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Spaces of Resistance: Urban Community Gardens in Inner-City Milwaukee (MA Thesis)

Friday, April 29, 2011

AGS Academic Adventurers Series, AGS Library, 3:00pm
Rama Prasada Mohapatra, Geography, UW-Milwaukee
The Adivasis of Eastern Ghats, India

Friday, May 6, 2010

Geography 600 Research Symposium: 9:00-12:00, and 1:30-4:40
Geography Student Recognition Ceremony and Lunch: 12:00-1:30 [times tentative]