Current Graduate Students

Appel, Stephen

Contact Info: srappel@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Fredlund
Research Interests: GIS, biogeography, climate change, conservation and management

Armstrong, Peter

Contact Info: armstr32@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/McCarthy
Research Interests: urban environmental sustainability; urban bicycle studies; role of urban university; place

Covington, Ryan

Contact Info: covingt4@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Holifield
Research Interests: Environmental justice; urban environmental governance; urban political economy/ecology; space, politics, and the political

Culver, Gregg

Contact Info: gnculver@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./McCarthy
Research Interests: Automobility theory and (qualitative) transportation geography, urban geography, rustbelt cities, Germany (especially Berlin), and Europe

Deng, Yingbin

Contact Info: yingbin@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D. /Wu
Research Interests: Impervious surface; urban Environment; remote sensing; spectral mixture analysis

Desmoulin, Alizée

Contact Info: alizee@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Holifield
Research Interests: Cultural landscapes, national parks, American chestnut

Farmer, Patience

Contact Info: pfarmer@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Wu
Research Interests: GIS, public health

Fernandes, Alarico

Contact Info: amf@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Bonds
Research Interests: Development in East Africa (Tanzania), Political-Economy, Social Theory and Geographies of Globalization and Development.

Hashimoto, Yui

Contact Info: hashimo3@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Bonds
Research Interests: Urban food security/food justice; geographies of gender, race/ethnicity, poverty/inequality; neoliberalism and welfare policy; participatory and qualitative research methods

Huang, Wei

Contact Info: weihuang@uwm.edu, website
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Day
Research Interests: Karst Geomorphology in southwest China, Hydrology, GIS and Remote sensing

Larsen, Joseph

Contact Info: larsen3@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Schwartz
Research Interests: Climate Change and Water, GIS, Remote Sensing, and Spatial Analysis, Environmental Change and Sustainability

Li, Wenliang

Contact Info: wenliang@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Wu
Research Interests: GIS, land use land cover change (LUCC) modeling

Lin, I-Hui

Contact Info: ihuilin@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Wu
Research Interests: Urban park, economic analysis, and location modeling

Liu, Haijian

Contact Info: haijian@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D/Wu
Research interests: LiDAR; remote sensing; GIS

Miller, Matthew J.

Nole, Rebecca

Contact Info: renole@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Bonds
Research Interests: Race; poverty; social justice; urban political economy; consensus building; cooperatives; alternative social economies; housing; space and scale

Padilla, Nick

Contact Info: npadilla@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Sziarto
Research Interests: Politics and spatialities of social movements, Latin America, indigenous peoples, development, and political ecology.

Pan, Feng

Contact Info: fengpan@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Choi
Research Interests: Hydrology, hydrological modeling, hydroclimatology, effect of climate change and urbanization on water resource, GIS

Park, Issac

Contact Info: iwpark@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Schwartz
Research Interests: Phenology

Pettygrove, Margaret

Contact Info: pettygr2@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Ghose
Research Interests: Urban political economy, geographies of poverty and inequality, citizenship practice, urban agriculture

Schuelke, Nick

Contact Info: schuel27@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Holifield
Research Interests: Urban rivers, environmental remediation and restoration, human-environment connections and interactions

Song, Yang

Contact Info: Song6@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Wu
Research Interests: remote sensing and GIS

Viel, Jana

Contact Info: jgedymin@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Fredlund
Research Interests: Biogeography, Conservation, and GIS

Vierk, Brendan

Contact Info: blvierk@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Masters/Day and Wu

Welcenbach, Thomas

Contact Info: welcenb5@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/ Ghose
Research Interests: citizen science, spatial knowledge production, GIS, social theory, alternative food production, urban bicycle studies, geosurveillance and privacy

Williams, Kathleen

Contact Info: kcw2@uwm.edu, website
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Holifield
Research Interests: Great Lakes Areas of Concern, environmental governance, borders, socio-ecological systems, sense-of-place

Xu, Wei

Contact Info: xuw@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Xu
Research Interests: Urban geography, population geography, Land use/ Land cover change, and GIS

Zhuo, Hong

Contact Info: hongzhuo@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Xu
Research Interests: GIS, Geographic transportation