Current Graduate Students

Ananchev, George

Contact Info: ananchev@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Sziarto
Research Interests automobility and policing, the police/the state, the highway, and the phenomenology of policed space

Appel, Stephen

Contact Info: srappel@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Ghose
Research Interests: Critical GIS, Open GIS, spatial data access and infrastructure, biogeography, and conservation

Armstrong, Peter

Contact Info: armstr32@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/McCarthy
Research Interests: urban environmental sustainability; urban bicycle studies; role of urban university; place

Borchardt, Susan

Contact Info: borcha48@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Choi
Research Interests Hydrogeography

Brown, Dezirae

Contact Info: dezirae@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MLIS/MA/Ghose
Research Interests Cartography, GIS, Preservation, Museum Studies

Christensen, Jacob

Contact Info: chris283@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Choi
Research Interests GIS and Remote Sensing

Covington, Ryan

Contact Info: covingt4@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Holifield
Research Interests: Environmental justice; urban environmental governance; urban political economy/ecology; space, politics, and the political

Deng, Yingbin

Contact Info: yingbin@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D. /Wu
Research Interests: Impervious surface; urban Environment; remote sensing; spectral mixture analysis

Desmoulin, Alizée

Contact Info: alizee@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Holifield
Research Interests: Cultural landscapes, national parks, American chestnut

Drew, Ben

Contact Info: brdrew@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Schwartz
Research Interests Climatology, Climate change, Conservation, GIS

Farmer, Patience

Contact Info: pfarmer@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Wu
Research Interests: GIS, public health

Fernandes, Alarico

Contact Info: amf@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Bonds
Research Interests: Development in East Africa (Tanzania), Political-Economy, Social Theory and Geographies of Globalization and Development.

Hashimoto, Yui

Contact Info: hashimo3@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Bonds
Research Interests: Geographies of gender and race; political economy; geographies of poverty/inequality; labor geographies, work, and social reproduction; qualitative and participatory methods

Hoerz, Ashley

Contact Info: aehoerz@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/Sziarto
Research Interests US-Mexico borderlands region with special regard to the changing definition and role of colonias within southern Texas

Huang, Wei

Contact Info: weihuang@uwm.edu, website
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Day
Research Interests: Karst Geomorphology in southwest China, Hydrology, GIS and Remote sensing

Kim, Minji

Contact Info: mjkim88@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./McCarthy
Research Interests Urban economic geography, urban tourism, regional development, East Asia (especially China)

Li, Wenliang

Contact Info: wenliang@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Wu
Research Interests: GIS, land use land cover change (LUCC) modeling

Lin, I-Hui

Contact Info: ihuilin@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Wu
Research Interests: Urban park, economic analysis, and location modeling

Liu, Haijian

Contact Info: haijian@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D/Wu
Research interests: LiDAR; remote sensing; GIS

Nole, Rebecca

Contact Info: renole@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Bonds
Research Interests: Race; poverty; social justice; urban political economy; consensus building; cooperatives; alternative social economies; housing; space and scale

Padilla, Nick

Contact Info: npadilla@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Sziarto
Research Interests: Politics and spatialities of social movements, Latin America, indigenous peoples, development, and political ecology.

Pan, Feng

Contact Info: fengpan@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Choi
Research Interests: Hydrology, hydrological modeling, hydroclimatology, effect of climate change and urbanization on water resource, GIS

Park, Gainbi

Contact Info: parkg@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Xu
Research Interests GIS, hazard mapping and vulnerability assessment, cartography

Pettygrove, Margaret

Contact Info: pettygr2@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Ghose
Research Interests: Urban political economy, geographies of poverty and inequality, citizenship practice, urban agriculture

Pibal, Doug

Contact Info: dpibal@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D/Schwartz
Research Interests Remote sensing of vegetation, canopy reflectance modeling, phenology, GIS

Roeder, Katie

Contact Info: koroeder@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MS/Ghose
Research Interests environmental sustainability, conservation and management of natural resources, political ecology

Schuelke, Nick

Contact Info: schuel27@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Holifield
Research Interests: urban rivers, human-environment relationships, environmental justice, urban political ecology, urban environmental history

Song, Yang

Contact Info: Song6@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Wu
Research Interests: remote sensing and GIS

Viel, Jana

Contact Info: jgedymin@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Schwartz
Research Interests: Phenology, Ornithology, Biogeography, GIS & Remote Sensing

Vierk, Brendan

Contact Info: blvierk@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Masters/Day and Wu

Welcenbach, Thomas

Contact Info: welcenb5@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: MA/ Ghose
Research Interests: citizen science, spatial knowledge production, GIS, social theory, alternative food production, urban bicycle studies, geosurveillance and privacy

Williams, Kathleen

Contact Info: kcw2@uwm.edu, website
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Holifield
Research Interests: Great Lakes Areas of Concern, environmental governance, borders, socio-ecological systems, sense-of-place

Xu, Wei

Contact Info: xuw@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Xu
Research Interests: population geography, health geography, spatial epidemiology, GIS

Zhuo, Hong

Contact Info: hongzhuo@uwm.edu
Program/Advisor: Ph.D./Xu
Research Interests: GIS, Geographic transportation