Geosciences Colloquia for Fall 2013

Unless otherwise noted, all colloquia take place from 3:30 – 4:30 PM in Lapham N101. Refreshments served after each colloquium at 4:30 in Lapham 168.

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Ms. Tania Lado-Insua,
Research Scholar at the Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island
Title: SCIMPI: A new sub‐seafloor observatory
Host:
Dr. Tim Grundl
Abstract (pdf; 53kb);

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Dr. Eungyu Park, Kyungpook National University
Title: A Stochastic Thought on Fluid Flow in Subsurface
Host: Dr. Weon Shik Han
Abstract (pdf; 67kb)

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Dr. Justin Hougham, Washington State University
Title: Education at the Speed of Research
Host: Dr. Tom Hooyer
Abstract (pdf; 68kb)

Thursday, October 3, 2013

John Jansen (McEllhiney Lecture), Cardno ENTRIX
Title: Keeping the pump primed; Aquifer sustainability
Host: Dr. Shangping Xu
Abstract (pdf; 146k)

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Sophie-Charlotte Lappe; UW-Milwaukee
Title: Palaeomagnetism of Extraterrestrial Materials on the nm-μm Scale: A Case Study Using Synthetic Dusty Olivine
Host: Dr. Julie Bowles
Abstract (pdf; 74kb)

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Dr. Aleksey Smirnov, Associate Professor of Geophysics at Michigan Technological University
Title: Reading magnetic record from deep time: An insight into the geodynamo and early Earth evolution
Host: Dr. Julie Bowles
Abstract (pdf; 69kb)

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Graduate Students
GSA Practice Presentations

Thursday, October 31, 2013

No Colloquium; GSA Conference

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Joe Lourigan and Bill Phelps, Hydrogeologists for the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Title: Molybdenum and Boron in Southeast Wisconsin Groundwater
Host: Dr. Weon Shik Han
Abstract (pdf; 77kb)

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Dr. Woonsup Choi; Department of Geography, UW-Milwaukee
Title: Urbanization and rainfall-runoff relationships in the Milwaukee River basin
Host: Dr. Weon Shik Han
Abstract (pdf; 6kb)

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Dr. Greg Valentine, State University of New York, University at Buffalo
Title: Hills and Holes (scoria cones and maars)
Host: Dr. Barry Cameron
Abstract (pdf; 6kb)

Thursday, November 28, 2013

No Colloquium; Thanksgiving Break

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Cancelled
Title: TBA

Thursday, December 12, 2013

No Colloquium; AGU Conference