5/3/04 Near Coast of Central Chile 6.6
5/3/04 Near Coast of Central Chile 6.6 Focal Mechanism

Near Coast of Central Chile 6.6 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Near Coast of Central Chile
Date: May 3, 2004
Time: 04:49:04 UTC (11:49:04 pm CDT local 5/2/04)
Latitude: 37.64 S
Longitude: 73.20 W
Magnitude: 6.6 Mw
Depth: 26 km
Distance: 81.45 deg (5,624 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 04:49:04 UTC (11:49:04 pm CDT local 5/2/04).
S-wave arrival time: 04:59:05 UTC (11:59:05 pm CDT local 5/2/04).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map