10/23/04 Near West Coast of Honshu, Japan 6.6


10/23/04 Near West Coast of Honshu, Japan 6.6 Focal Mechanism

Near West Coast of Honshu, Japan 6.6 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Near West Coast of Honshu, Japan
Date: October 23, 2004
Time: 08:56:01 (UTC); 3:56:01 am CDT
Latitude: 37.20 N
Longitude: 138.81 E
Magnitude: 6.6 Mw
Depth: 19 km
Distance: 89.51 deg (6,181 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 09:08:57 UTC; 4:08:57 am CDT.
PP-wave arrival time: 09:12:28 UTC; 4:12:28 am CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 09:19:48 UTC; 4:19:48 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map