11/22/04 Off West Coast of S. Island, New Nealand 7.3


11/22/04 Off West Coast of S. Island, New Nealand 7.3 Focal Mechanism

Off West Coast of S. Island, New Nealand 7.3 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Off West Coast of S. Island, New Nealand
Date: November 22, 2004
Time: 20:26:25 (UTC); 2:26:25 pm CST
Latitude: 46.57 S
Longitude: 164.83 E
Magnitude: 7.3 Mw
Depth: 23 km
Distance: 129.99 deg (8,976 miles from Milwaukee)
Pdiff-wave arrival time: not verified.
Sdiff-wave arrival time: not verified.
PP-wave arrival time: 20:47:46 (UTC); 2:47:46 pm CST.
SKP-wave arrival time: 20:48:55 (UTC); 2:48:55 pm CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map