6/13/05 Tarapaca, Chile 7.8
6/13/05 Tarapaca, Chile 7.8 Focal Mechanism

Tarapaca, Chile 7.8 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Tarapaca Chile
Date: June 13, 2005
Time: 22:44:33 UTC; 5:44:33 pm CDT
Latitude: 19.93 S
Longitude: 69.03 W
Magnitude: 7.8 Mw
Depth: 101 km
Distance: 65.06 deg (4,492 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time 22:55:00 UTC; 5:55:00 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 23:03:31 UTC; 6:03:31 pm CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map