8/16/05 Off the E. Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.2
8/16/05 Off the E. Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.2 Focal Mechanism

Off the E. Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.2 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Off the E. Coast of Honshu, Japan
Date: August 16, 2005
Time: 02:46:30 UTC; 9:46:30 pm CDT (8/15/05)
Latitude: 38.26 N
Longitude: 141.98 E
Magnitude: 7.2 Mw
Depth: 56 km
Distance: 87.25 deg (6,025 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time 02:59:13 UTC; 9:59:13 pm CDT (8/15/05).
S-wave arrival time: 03:9:46 UTC; 10:9:46 pm CDT (8/15/05).
SS-wave arrival time: 03:15:33 UTC; 10:15:33 pm CDT (8/15/05).
SKKS-wave arrival time: 03:22:47 UTC; 10:22:47 pm CDT (8/15/05).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map