11/14/05 Off East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.5
11/14/05 Off East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.5 Focal Mechanism

Off East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.5 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Off East Coast of Honshu, Japan
Date: November 14, 2005
Time: 21:38:51 UTC; 3:38:51 pm CST
Latitude: 38.10 N
Longitude: 144.93 E
Magnitude: 7.5 Mw
Depth: 24 km
Distance: 86.05 deg (5,942 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 21:51:33 UTC; 3:51:33 pm CST.
S-wave arrival time: not verified.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map