11/17/05 Potosi, Bolivia 6.9
11/17/05 Potosi, Bolivia 6.9 Focal Mechanism

Potosi, Bolivia 6.9 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Potosi, Bolivia
Date: November 17, 2005
Time: 19:26:56 UTC; 1:26:56 pm CST
Latitude: 22.26 S
Longitude: 67.78 W
Magnitude: 6.9 Mw
Depth: 147 km
Distance: 67.61 deg (4,668 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 19:37:36 UTC; 1:37:36 pm CST.
S-wave arrival time: 19:46:17 UTC; 1:46:17 pm CST.
sS-wave arrival time: 19:47:24 UTC; 1:47:24 pm CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
There are no surface waves for this event because it
occurred so deep in the Earth.

Back to Earthquake Map