9/10/06 Gulf of Mexico 6.0
9/10/06 Gulf of Mexico 6.0 Focal Mechanism

Gulf of Mexico 6.0 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Gulf of Mexico
Date: September 10, 2006
Time: 14:56:07 UTC; 9:56:07 am CDT
Latitude: 26.33 N
Longitude: 86.57 W
Magnitude: 6.0 Mw
Depth: 4 km
Distance: 16.75 deg (1,157 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 15:00:03 UTC; 9:00:03 am CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 15:03:19 UTC; 9:03:19 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
The Sn phase arrived slightly before the main S-wave but could not be accurately picked.

Back to Earthquake Map