9/29/06 Offshore Sucre, Venezuela 6.0
9/29/06 Offshore Sucre, Venezuela 6.0 Focal Mechanism

Offshore Sucre, Venezuela 6.0 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Offshore Sucre, Venezuela 6.0
Date: September 29, 2006
Time: 13:08:27 UTC; 8:08:27 am CDT
Latitude: 10.85 N
Longitude: 61.82 W
Magnitude: 6.0 Mw
Depth: 25 km
Distance: 39.31 deg (2,714 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 13:15:51 UTC; 8:15:51 am CDT.
PcS-phase arrival time: 13:21:48 UTC; 8:21:48 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
The PcS-phase arrives at the core-mantle boundary as a P-wave, reflects off and converts into an S-wave.

Back to Earthquake Map