10/20/06 Near Coast of Central Peru 6.7
10/20/06 Near Coast of Central Peru 6.7 Focal Mechanism

Near Coast of Central Peru 6.7 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Near Coast of Central Peru
Date: October 20, 2006
Time: 10:48:57 UTC; 5:48:57 am CDT
Latitude: 13.43 S
Longitude: 76.57 W
Magnitude: 6.7 Mw
Depth: 26 km
Distance: 57.18 deg (3,948 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 10:58:40 UTC; 5:58:40 am CDT.
S-phase arrival time: 11:06:34 UTC; 6:06:34 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map