7/6/07 Chiapas, Mexico 6.0
7/6/07 Chiapas, Mexico 6.0 Focal Mechanism

Central Mid-Atlantic Ridge 6.2 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Chiapas, Mexico
Date: July 6, 2007
Time: 01:09:22 UTC; 8:09:22 pm CDT (local 7/5/07).
Latitude: 16.60 N
Longitude: 93.54 W
Magnitude: 6.0 Mw
Depth: 116 km
Distance: 26.83 deg (1,853 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 01:14:47 UTC; 8:14:47 pm CDT (local 7/5/07)
S-wave arrival time: Not verified.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This was a deep event, hence the lack of big surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map