8/15/07 Near Coast of Central Peru 8.0
8/15/07 Near Coast of Central Peru 8.0 Focal Mechanism

Near Coast of Central Peru 8.0 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Near Coast of Central Peru
Date: August 15, 2007
Time: 23:40:56 UTC; 6:40:56 pm CDT.
Latitude: 13.36 S
Longitude: 76.52 W
Magnitude: 8.0 Mw
Depth: 30 km
Distance: 57.12 deg (3,994 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 23:50:38 UTC; 6:50:38 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 23:58:33 UTC; 6:58:33 pm CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This event did not produce a significant tsunami, but did cause serious damage and some loss of life.

Back to Earthquake Map