9/28/07 Volcano Islands, Japan Region 7.4
9/28/07 Volcano Islands, Japan Region 7.4 Focal Mechanism

Volcano Islands, Japan Region 7.4 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Volcano Islands, Japan Region
Date: September 28, 2007
Time: 13:38:58 UTC; 8:38:58 am CDT.
Latitude: 21.98 N
Longitude: 142.68 E
Magnitude: 7.4 Mw
Depth: 263 km
Distance: 100.29 deg (6,925 miles from Milwaukee)
Pdiff-wave arrival time: 13:52:14 UTC; 8:52:14 am CDT.
Sdiff-wave arrival time: 14:03:26 UTC; 9:03:26 am CDT.
SKS-wave arrival time: 14:02:26 UTC; 9:02:26 am CDT.
SP-wave arrival time: 14:04:56 UTC; 9:04:56 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map