1/5/08 Queen Charlotte Islands 6.6 and 6.4
Queen Charlotte Islands 6.6 and 6.4 focal mechanism

Queen Charlotte Islands 6.6 and 6.4 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Queen Charlotte Islands
Date: January 5, 2008
Time (6.6 event): 11:01:05 UTC; 5:01:05 am CST.
Time (6.4 event): 11:44:48 UTC; 5:44:48 am CST.
Latitude: 51.28 N
Longitude: 130.75 W
Magnitudes: 6.6 and 6.4 Mw
Depth: 14 km
Distance: 29.89 deg (2,064 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time (6.6 event): 11:07:12 UTC; 5:07:12 am CST.
P-wave arrival time (6.4 event): 11:50:54 UTC; 5:50:54 am CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This is two events back-to-back. The location, depth and distance are for the first event only.
No S-wave arrival times were verified.

Back to Earthquake Map