7/19/08 Off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.0


Inset Map

7/19/08 Off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.0 Inset Map


7/19/08 Off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.0 Focal Mechanism

Off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.0 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan
Date: July 19, 2008
Time: 02:39:30 UTC; 9:39:30 pm CDT (local 7/18/08).
Latitude: 37.61 N
Longitude: 142.11 E
Magnitudes: 7.0 Mw
Depth: 27 km
Distance: 87.73 deg (6,058 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 02:52:16 UTC; 9:62:16 pm CDT (local 7/18/08).
S-wave arrival time: 03:02:57 UTC; 10:02:57 pm CDT (local 7/18/08).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map