7/29/08 Greater Los Angeles Area, California 5.4

Digital Vertical Record


Inset Map

7/29/08 Greater Los Angeles Area, California 5.4 Inset Map


7/29/08 Greater Los Angeles Area, California 5.4 Focal Mechanism

Greater Los Angeles Area, California 5.4 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area, California
Date: July 29, 2008
Time: 18:42:15 UTC; 1:42:15 pm CDT.
Latitude: 33.96 N
Longitude: 117.76 W
Magnitudes: 5.4 Mw
Depth: 13.6 km
Distance: 24.97 deg (1,724 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 18:47:38 UTC; 1:47:38 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 18:52:08 UTC; 1:52:08 pm CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map