Costa Rica 6.1 Earthquake


Inset Map

Costa Rica 6.1 Inset map

Costa Rica 6.1 Focal mechanism

1/8/09 Costa Rica 6.1 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Costa Rica
Date: January 8, 2009
Time: 19:21:34 UTC; 1:21:34 pm CST.
Latitude: 10.20 N
Longitude: 84.16 W
Magnitudes: 6.1 Mw
Depth: 10 km
Distance: 32.92 deg (2,273 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 19:28:09 UTC; 1:28:09 pm CST.
S-wave arrival time: 19:33:28 UTC; 1:33:28 pm CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map