1/15/09 East of Kuril Islands 7.4


Inset Map

1/15/09 East of Kuril Islands 7.4 Inset Map

1/15/09 East of Kuril Islands 7.4 Focal Mechanism

1/15/09 East of Kuril Islands 7.4 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: East of Kuril Islands
Date: January 15, 2009
Time: 17:49:39 UTC; 11:49:39 am CST.
Latitude: 46.86 N
Longitude: 155.15 E
Magnitudes: 7.4 Mw
Depth: 43 km
Distance: 74.50 deg (5,144 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 18:01:13 UTC; 12:01:13 pm CST.
S-wave arrival time: 18:10:46 UTC; 12:10:46 pm CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map