3/6/09 North of Svalbard Region 6.5 Mw Earthquake Recorded at UWM


Inset Map

3/6/09 North of Svalbard Region 6.5 Mw Inset Map

3/6/09 North of Svalbard Region 6.5 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

3/6/09 North of Svalbard Region 6.5 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: North of Svalbard Region
Date: March 6, 2009
Time: 10:50:29 UTC; 4:50:29 am CST.
Latitude: 80.26 N
Longitude: 1.80 W
Magnitudes: 6.5 Mw
Depth: 10 km
Distance: 47.23 deg (3,261 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 10:59:01 UTC; 4:59:01am CST.
S-wave arrival time: 11:05:55 UTC; 5:05:55 am CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
The latitude and longitude were changed slightly on the location map because of its high latitude.

Back to Earthquake Map