3/12/09 South of Panama 6.3


Inset Map

3/12/09 South of Panama 6.3 inset map

3/12/09 South of Panama 6.3 focal mechanism

3/12/09 South of Panama 6.3 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: South of Panama
Date: March 12, 2009
Time: 23:23:43 UTC; 6:23:34 pm CDT.
Latitude: 5.64 N
Longitude: 82.77 W
Magnitudes: 6.3 Mw
Depth: 10 km
Distance: 37.56 deg (2,593 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 23:30:48 UTC; 6:30:48 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 23:36:38 UTC; 6:36:38 pm CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map