7/12/09 Southern Peru 6.1


Inset Map

7/12/09 Southern Peru 6.1 inset map

7/12/09 Southern Peru 6.1 focal mechanism

7/12/09 Southern Peru 6.1 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Southern Peru
Date: July 12, 2009
Time: 06:12:47 UTC; 1:12:47 am CDT
Latitude: 14.99 S
Longitude: 70.42 W
Magnitudes: 6.1 Mw
Depth: 201 km
Distance: 59.97 deg (4,141 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 06:22:32 UTC; 1:22:32 am CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 06:30:28 UTC; 1:30:28 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This is a very deep event that did not produce surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map