8/9/09 Izu Islands, Japan Region 7.1


Inset Map

8/9/09 Izu Islands, Japan Region 7.1 inset map

8/9/09 Izu Islands, Japan Region 7.1 focal mechanism

8/9/09 Izu Islands, Japan Region 7.1 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Izu Islands, Japan Region
Date: August 9, 2009
Time: 10:55:56 UTC; 5:55:56 am CDT
Latitude: 33.14 N
Longitude: 138.04 E
Magnitudes: 7.1 Mw
Depth: 303 km
Distance: 93.28 deg (6,441 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 11:08:36 UTC; 6:08:36 am CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 11:19:16 UTC; 6:19:16 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This is a very deep event that did not produce surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map