8/20/09 Norwegian Sea 6.1


Inset Map

8/20/09 Norwegian Sea 6.1 inset map

8/20/09 Norwegian Sea 6.1 focal mechanism

8/20/09 Norwegian Sea 6.1 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Norwegian Sea
Date: August 20, 2009
Time: 06:35:05 UTC; 1:35:05 am CDT
Latitude: 72.22 N
Longitude: 0.89 E
Magnitudes: 6.1 Mw
Depth: 23 km
Distance: 49.28 deg (3,403 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 06:43:53 UTC; 1:43:53 am CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 06:51:00 UTC; 1:51:00 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
The longitude on the main earthquake map was slightly changed in order to better fit.

Back to Earthquake Map