2/27/10 Offshore Maule, Chile 8.8


Inset Map

2/27/10 Offshore Maule, Chile 8.8 inset map

2/27/10 Offshore Maule, Chile 8.8 focal mechanism

2/27/10 Offshore Maule, Chile 8.8 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Offshore Maule, Chile
Date: February 27, 2010
Time: 06:34:14 UTC; 12:34:14 am CST
Latitude: 35.85 S
Longitude: 72.72 W
Magnitudes: 8.8 Mw
Depth: 36 km
Distance: 79.77 deg (5,508 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 06:46:18 UTC; 12:46:18 am CST.
S-wave arrival time: 06:56:19 UTC; 12:56:19 am CST
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This is the largest earthquake in this region since the 9.5 Mw in May 1960

Back to Earthquake Map