8/12/10 Equador 7.1


Inset Map

8/12/10 Equador 7.1 inset map

8/12/10 Equador 7.1 focal mechanism

8/12/10 Equador 7.1 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Equador
Date: august 12, 2010
Time: 11:54:16 UTC; 6:54:15 am CDT
Latitude: 1.26 S
Longitude: 77.31 W
Magnitudes: 7.1 Mw
Depth: 199 km
Distance: 45.16deg (3,118 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 12:02:11 UTC; 7:02:11 am CDT
S-wave arrival time: 12:08:35 UTC; 7:08:35 am CDT
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This was two very large events that are about 40 minutes apart.
This earthquake was fairly deep, hence the lack of large surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map