121207081824


Inset Map

121207081824_inset

12120708

12/7/2012 Off East Coast of Honshu, Japan 7.3 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Off East Coast of Honshu, Japan
Date: December 7, 2012
Time: 08:18:24 UTC; 2:18:24 am CST
Latitude: 37.89 N
Longitude: 144.09 W
Magnitudes: 7.3 Mw
Depth: 36.1 km
Distance: 86.62 deg (5,981 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 08:31:03 UTC; 2:31:03 am CST
S-wave arrival time: 08:41:38 UTC; 2:41:38 am CST
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map