130202141734


Inset Map

130202141734_inset

13020214

2/2/2013 Hokkaido, Japan Region 6.9 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Hokkaido, Japan Region
Date: February 2, 2013
Time: 14:17:34 UTC; 8:17:34 am CST
Latitude: 42.81 N
Longitude: 143.08 E
Magnitudes: 6.9 Mw
Depth: 103.1 km
Distance: 83.04 deg (5,734 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 14:29:47 UTC; 8:29:47 CST.
S-wave arrival time: 14:39:59 UTC; 8:39:59 CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

This event was very deep so there are not big surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map