130524054449


Inset Map

130524054449_inset

13052405

5/24/2013 Sea of Okhotsk 8.3 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Sea of Okhotsk
Date: May 24, 2013
Time: 05:44:49 UTC; 12:44:49 am CDT
Latitude: 54.87 N
Longitude: 153.28 E
Magnitudes: 8.3 Mw
Depth: 608 km
Distance: 69.15 deg (4,775 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 05:45:56 UTC; 12:45:56 am CDT
S-wave arrival time: 06:03:15 UTC; 1:03:15 am CDT
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This event was very deep hence the lack of surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map