140310051812


Inset Map

140310051812_inset

14031005

3/10/2014 77km WNW of Ferndale, California 6.9 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: 77km WNW of Ferndale, California
Date: March 10, 2014
Time: 05:18:12 UTC; 11:18:12 pm CDT (local 3/9/2014)
Latitude: 40.83 N
Longitude: 125.13 W
Magnitudes: 6.9 Mw
Depth: 16.6 km
Distance: 27.56 deg (1,903 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 05:23:58 UTC; 11:23:58 pm CDT (local 3/9/2014).
S-wave arrival time: 05:28:40 UTC; 11:28:40 pm CDT (local 3/9/2014).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map