140401234646


Inset Map

140401234646_inset

14040123

4/1/2014 95 km NW of Iquique, Chile 8.2 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: 95 km NW of Iquique, Chile
Date: April 1, 2014
Time: 23:46:46 UTC; 6:46:46 pm CDT
Latitude: 19.64 S
Longitude: 70.82 W
Magnitudes: 8.2 Mw
Depth: 25.5 km
Distance: 64.64 deg (4,464 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 23:57:21 UTC; 6:57:21 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 24:06:01 UTC; 7:06:01 pm CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map