11/15/01 Ascension Islands 6.3
11/15/01 Ascension Islands 6.3 Focal Mechanism

Ascension Islands 6.3 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Ascension Islands
Date: November 15, 2001
Time: 01:03:05 (UCT); 7:03 pm CST (local 11/14/01)
Latitude: 1.77 S
Longitude: 15.46 W
Magnitude: 6.3 Mw
Depth: 10 km
Distance: 78.44 deg (5,416 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time: 01:15 (UTC); 7:15 pm CST (local 11/14/01).
S-wave arrival time: 01:25 (UTC); 7:25 pm CST (local 11/14/01).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
The seismogram had all of the high frequencies filtered out in order to see the p and s-wave from the vertical record.

Back to Earthquake Map