12/02/01 Honshu Japan 6.5
12/02/01 Honshu Japan 6.5 Focal Mechanism

Honshu Japan 6.5 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Honshu Japan
Date: December 2, 2001
Time: 13:01:53 (UCT); 7:01 am CST
Latitude: 39.53 N
Longitude: 141.07 E
Magnitude: 6.5 Mw
Depth: 122 km
Distance: 86.61 deg (5,980 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time: 13:14 (UTC); 7:14 am CST.
S-wave arrival time: 13:25 (UTC); 7:25 am CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map