4/18/02 Northern Coast of Chile 6.7
4/18/02 Northern Coast of Chile 6.7 Focal Mechanism

Northern Coast of Chile 6.7 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Northern Coast of Chile
Date: April 18, 2002
Time: 16:08:36 (UCT); 11:08 pm CDT
Latitude: 27.35 S
Longitude: ??? W
Magnitude: 6.7 Mw
Depth: 62 km
Distance: 71.97 deg (4,970 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time: 16:20 (UTC); 11:20 am CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 16:29 (UTC); 11:29 am CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map