10/12/02 Western Brazil 6.9
10/12/02 Western Brazil 6.9 Focal Mechanism

Western Brazil 6.9 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanisms

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Western Brazil
Date: October 12, 2002
Time: 20:09:11 (UTC); 3:09 pm CDT
Latitude: 8.26 S
Longitude: 71.58 W
Magnitude: 6.9 Mw
Depth: 532 km
Distance: 53.20 deg (3673 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time: 20:18 (UTC); 3:18 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: not verified.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map