11/03/02 Central Alaska 7.9
11/03/02 Central Alaska 7.9 Focal Mechanism

Central Alaska 7.9 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Central Alaska
Date: November 3, 2002
Time: 22:12:41 (UTC); 4:12 pm CST
Latitude: 63.52 N
Longitude: 147.52 W
Magnitude: 7.9 Mw
Depth: 19 km
Distance: 39.26 deg (2,711 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time 22:20 (UTC); 4:20 pm CST.
S-wave arrival time: 22:26 (UTC); 4:26 pm CST.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map